Pyramids of Giza

The Pyramids of Giza (also known as the Giza Necropolis) stand on the desert plateau of Giza, on the outskirts of Cairo, Egypt. The three largest pyramids: Khufu, Kafre, Menkaure were built by the pharaohs of the Fourth Dynasty – Cheops, Khafren and Mikerin. These were the most important of the three separate burial complexes – the magnificent tombs of the pharaohs, which arose in 2590 BC. Ave. m. e. – 2506 Ave. m. e. structures.
The pyramids were intended to store the bodies of the pharaohs after their death, thus preserving their immortality. They were built from huge blocks of stone weighing up to 15 tons. In total, about 3 million stone blocks were used. The Great Pyramid of Giza was built by Khufu Egyptians for about thirty years, its height reached 146.6 m, and the side was 230 m. It stood above other buildings for burials and servants.
The Kafre pyramid is a little smaller – its height is 136.5 m, and its side is 210.6 m. The Menkaure pyramid is the smallest – only 66 m high, and only 108 m wide. The Pyramid of Khufu is the only wonder of the ancient world that has survived to this day – and the only one that has remained almost the same as it was. The Giza Pyramid Complex is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.